Cooking with Little Miss Ling: Chicken and Vegetable Soup

Cooking with Little Miss LingI created this recipe when hubby had the flu last year. He needed some wholesome comfort food and I had the perfect thing in mind – chicken and vegetable soup!

I made this recipe tonight for our visiting friend from Australia. I thought he might be suffering from scurvy after four weeks of travelling around Europe, and I couldn’t think of a more delicious meal that is as chock-a-block full of veggies.

Chicken and Vegetable SoupThis is a super simple and healthy recipe. I love how chunky and hearty it is, but you can change the ratio of the ingredients to create the consistency you want. You can substitute any of the vegetables, but I really love the thinly shredded snow peas as they add another layer of texture to the soup.

1 brown onion, diced
4 carrots, diced
4 medium sized potatoes, roughly chopped
250g button mushrooms, quartered
500g chicken breast
1.5L chicken stock
250g snow peas, trimmed and shred into thin strips lengthways

  1. Place the onion, carrots, potatoes, button mushrooms, chicken breast and chicken stock into a large pot. Bring to boil and allow to simmer for 30 minutes.
  2. Remove the chicken breasts from soup. Halve the chicken breasts lengthways and thinly slice.
  3. Return the chicken to the pot along with the snow peas. Allow to simmer until chicken is warmed through and snow peas soften.

What are your go-to recipes when you feel under the weather?

I’d love to see your versions of my recipe, so go ahead and share your photos with me on my Facebook page. And remember, nobody has to be sick for you to make chicken and vegetable soup!

