Dining with Little Miss Ling: Italy

Dining with Little Miss LingHubby and I returned two weeks ago from a one week holiday in Italy. I was really looking forward to eating my way through Italy, but the cities we visited were so touristy that it was really difficult to find an authentic Italian restaurant with good food and reasonable prices. Unfortunately for us, we ate at a lot of duds before finding the real deal. Fortunately for you, I’m going to share the restaurants we enjoyed the most below.

Osteria Tripperia Il Magazzino, Florence, Italy:

(Hover over the photos for the names of the dishes, and click to see full size image.)

This was by far the best meal we had on our entire trip. You could really taste the tripe in the ravioli dish, and the tagliatella could possibly be the most amazing pasta dish I’ve ever tasted! I was trying so hard to decipher the ingredients in the white ragu, but really I don’t have a clue as to where to begin! I’m determined to find out though!

Osteria del Gatto, Siena, Italy:

(Hover over the photos for the names of the dishes, and click to see full size image.)

I highly recommend the Peposo. The pepper flavour is potent, but it all ties in beautifully!

La Taverna dei Fori Imperiali, Rome, Italy:

(Click to see full size image.)

We had the most delicious eggplant parmigiana ever here!

San Crispino, Rome, Italy:

(Hover over the photos for the names of the dishes, and click to see full size image.)

There are gelato flavours here that you won’t find anywhere else, and you can tell from their authentic taste that quality ingredients are used in the making of the gelato. It was so delicious that hubby and I went back the second day. Hubby tried two new flavours, hazelnut and chocolate meringue, while I ordered what I thought would be the ultimate combination – honey and banana. Was I right? You bet!

Hua Lian, Rome, Italy:

(Click to see full size image.)

Hubby and I had so many dud meals that by the end of the trip, we were really just craving some simple and familiar food. The dishes weren’t anything out of the ordinary, but they were just what the doctor ordered, so much so that we returned for dinner the next night! With so many restaurants in Europe masquerading as Chinese restaurants, we were so pleased to find one that actually served decent food.

