Dining with Little Miss Ling: Favourite Eats in Munich, Germany

Dining with Little Miss LingHubby and I spent our first two months in Germany in Munich, so naturally, being the foodies that we are, we discovered some great dining spots. Since our flight from Italy landed in Munich, we thought we’d spend an extra night in Munich to revisit all our favourite eats.

Bergwolf:

Bergwolf

Bergwolf

Rote Currywurst mit Pommes €4.90

This is the only restaurant in our experience that serves currywurst with a curry-like sauce. Everywhere else serves currywurst with tomato sauce with a bit of curry powder sprinkled on top. I don’t know which sauce is more authentic, but I do know the currywurst at Bergwolf tastes a million times better than the currywurst I’ve had elsewhere, including Berlin – the home of currywurst!

Schrannenhalle:

Schrannenhalle

Goulash Soup with Brown Bread €6.50 – The best goulash soup ever!

Kebap-House:

Kebap-House

Kebap-House

Döner €4.30 – Beautifully toasted soft bread, succulent meat, and mouth-watering chilli sauce combine to create the most delicious kebab hubby and I have ever tasted!

Angeli:

(Hover over the photos for the names of the dishes, and click to see full size image.)

Sadly, hubby and I discovered on our recent stay in Munich that Angeli is no longer there. We weren’t able to find out whether it had closed or moved, but I’ve included Angeli in this post because:

  1. it was our favourite dining spot in Munich and deserved a mention;
  2. I needed to say goodbye properly and lament my loss; and
  3. if anyone reading knows what happened to it, I want to hear from you!

The Tortellini Panna e Prosciutto was our favourite dish. It used the most delicious ham, which was complemented perfectly by the cream. The Lasagne alia Bolognese was a close second, with amazing flavour. Not only was the food delicious, it was really cheap as well, especially if you ordered takeaway! Each pasta dish was only €5.50, and the portions were huge! Alas, Angeli is no more, but I will forever hold the memory of it fondly in my heart…

