Dining with Little Miss Ling: London, England

Dining with Little Miss LingIt’s been just over a month since hubby and I were in London for a week-long holiday, and boy was it a good holiday! We absolutely loved London, so much so that I decided I wanted to live there for a year or two!

Needless to say, food played a huge role during our time in London. We were fortunate enough to have foodie friends in London who gave us brilliant restaurant recommendations, so here I am, sharing the love!

Let’s kick things off with the fantastical Mad Hatter’s Tea at the Sanderson Hotel  (£35 per person).

We invite you to “tumble down the rabbit hole” and enjoy the wonderful world of Afternoon Tea. This new incarnation of our Afternoon Tea highlights our collaboration with design collective Luna & Curious, who crafted bespoke crockery for the service. Menus are hidden inside vintage books, and napkins wrapped with riddles, while teapots adorned with kings and queens and sandwich plates featuring zebras, birdcages, carousels and ticking clocks play host to wondrous fare.

(Hover over the photos for the names of the dishes, and click to see full size image.)

The savoury items were really delicious, but  I was struggling to try all of the desserts as I don’t have a sweet tooth. Even so, the whimsy of it all really made it stand out from the crowd for me.

Breakfast being hubby’s favourite meal of the day, he couldn’t go to London without having a traditional full English breakfast. Cue The Breakfast Club.

(Hover over the photos for the names of the dishes, and click to see full size image.)

For the meat-eaters, you can’t go past Pitt Cue Co. Not only is the meat rich in flavour and amazingly tender, the bone marrow mash is to die for!

(Hover over the photos for the names of the dishes, and click to see full size image.)

Hubby and I hit up Burger and Lobster for a lobster fix, and WOW. We’re not even the biggest lobster fans, but WOW. And don’t ask me to decide between the lobster and the lobster roll. I really couldn’t! For me, hubby and I ordering one of each and then going halfsies was the perfect combination!

(Hover over the photos for the names of the dishes, and click to see full size image.)

Patty & Bun isn’t as posh as Burger and Lobster, but boy do they know how to make a good burger! So good, in fact, that hubby and I went there twice!

(Hover over the photos for the names of the dishes, and click to see full size image.)

And of course, hubby and I had to get some good Asian food into our bellies before being completely deprived in Germany again.

Tonkotsu:

(Hover over the photos for the names of the dishes, and click to see full size image.)

Bone Daddies:

(Hover over the photos for the names of the dishes, and click to see full size image.)

So there you have it! My top foodie recommendations for London! Let me know if you’ve been to any of the restaurants mentioned above or if you have any other recommendations for me! I’m not sure when I’ll make it back to London, but when I do, you can bet that I’ll be ready to eat up a storm!

