Happy Mid-Autumn Festival! 中秋節快樂!

Mid-Autumn Festival has always been a Chinese celebration close to my heart. Mid-Autumn Festival is held on the 15th day of the eight month of the Chinese calendar, and my Chinese calendar birthday is the 16th day of the eighth month, so my family and I have always celebrated both things together.

Traditionally, one would play with lanterns/燈籠, solve riddles/謎語, and of course, eat mooncake/月餅.

Lotus seed paste mooncake with salted egg yolks (the more yolks the better!) is one of my favourite foods. I love the contrast between the salty egg yolk and the sweet lotus paste, so much so that my family would usually let me have the slices of mooncake that had the most yolk. Every year, instead of birthday cake, my parents would stick a candle in a mooncake for me.

This Mid-Autumn Festival, we have no lanterns/燈籠 nor riddles/謎語, but I did manage to source some mooncakes from Asia Markt Bambus, the best Asian grocery store in Würzburg!

MooncakeMooncakeHere’s wishing you all a happy Mid-Autumn Festival! 中秋節快樂! ^_^

Mooncake

