Cooking with Little Miss Ling: Chinese Mushroom Rice/冬菇飯

Cooking with Little Miss Ling (Triton Lite)Due to my bad experiences with Asian restaurants in Germany, I am extremely dubious when my European friends try to recommend a “great Asian restaurant” to me.

One time, my friend was telling me about “this great Chinese restaurant” that his Chinese housemate took him to in Bologna. I was sceptical. He kept trying to convince me of the authenticity of the restaurant, how he was the only non-Asian person in the restaurant. I wasn’t persuaded. Then he brought out the big guns. “My housemate is 100% Chinese, not half Chinese, half Australian like you.” I walked away.

Of course, all that was said in good humour, but since then, I have been on a mission to introduce him to the amazing Chinese food that I grew up with.

As I mentioned in my Sticky Rice/糯米飯 blog entry, I’m no expert when it comes to Chinese cooking. To make matters worse, my best friend is vegetarian, and I really can’t think of too many dishes I had growing up that are vegetarian!

But necessity is the mother of invention.

Remember my Chinese Mushroom and Chicken Rice/冬菇雞飯? I thought that would be a good first dish to adapt into a vegetarian-friendly recipe.

Chinese Mushroom Rice2 inch ginger, finely chopped
125g button mushrooms, quartered
100g chanterelle mushrooms
15 shiitake mushrooms, sliced
light soy sauce
4 spring onions, finely chopped
1 1/2 cups water
1 1/2 cups jasmine rice, washed
1 bunch coriander, finely chopped

  1. Heat oil in pan and sauté  the ginger until aromatic. Add the mushrooms and cook until just softened. Drizzle light soy sauce generously over the mixture and stir through. Toss through the spring onions.
  2. Add 1 1/2 cup water to the pan. Stir well to lift all the flavours from the pan. Bring the liquid to the boil, then strain the liquid into the rice in the rice cooker. Top up the rice cooker with water as required and allow the rice to cook.
  3. When the rice is almost cooked and all the liquid has been absorbed (about 30 minutes for my rice cooker), quickly uncover the rice cooker and place the mushroom mixture on top of the rice. Replace the cover and continue cooking until the rice is done.
  4. Mix the mushroom mixture through the rice. Add the coriander and mix through.

Chanterelle mushrooms

I chose to use chanterelle mushrooms because they were in season, but you can use any combination of mushrooms you wish.

Chinese Mushroom Rice

When the rice is almost cooked and all the liquid has been absorbed, quickly uncover the rice cooker and place the mushrooms mixture on top of the rice

