Cooking with Little Miss Ling: Mushroom and Parmesan Risotto

Cooking with Little Miss Ling (Triton Lite)

I have had a love-hate relationship with risotto.

The first risotto I ever tasted was one a chicken and pumpkin baked risotto from Donna Hay that my girlfriend and I made together when I was over for a sleepover. It was delicious.

I tried to recreate the risotto for my family at home. It was a disaster. The pumpkin was basically raw. No one wanted to eat it and they decided that they hated risotto from that point forth.

I’ve greatly improved in my cooking skills since those days, and yet I still couldn’t master the risotto. Don’t get me wrong, hubby and I still thought the risottos I made were delicious, but the texture just wasn’t quite right. Because of this, I never made risotto for anyone else other than hubby and I.

That is until recently.

I made this mushroom and parmesan risotto recently, and I was so pleased with the creamy result, that not only did I cook it for people other than hubby and I, I cooked it for ITALIANS!

And yes, it received their stamp of approval.

Mushroom and Parmesan Risotto

1 brown onion, diced
2 garlic cloves, crushed
2 cups Arborio rice
1.5L vegetable stock
300g button mushrooms, sliced
1 tablespoon lemon juice
4 tablespoons butter, chopped
1/2 cup parmesan, grated
2 tablespoons flat leaf parsley, finely chopped

  1. Bring the vegetable stock to a low simmer.
  2. Heat oil in pan over medium heat. Sauté  the onion and garlic until the onion is tender but not browned. Stir in the Arborio rice until it is coated with oil.
  3. Add a cup of vegetable stock. Stir until most of the liquid is absorbed before adding another cup of stock. Continue to do this until there is about 2 cups of stock remaining.
  4. At this point, add the button mushrooms and continue as before, but with 1/2 cup increments, until the mushrooms are softened and the rice is cooked through.
  5. Add a final 1/2 cup of vegetable stock as well as the lemon juice and remove the pan from heat.
  6. Stir in the butter and the parmesan until melted through. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Stir in the parsley.

I’m going to have to redeem myself and restore risotto to its rightful place with this dish when I next see my family.

