Getting Creative with Little Miss Ling: Speedy the Snail

For the third instalment of the FreshStitches Kit Club, I received the pattern for Martin the Snail and a fabulous skein of Noro Kureyon.

For this instalment’s little twist, instead of crocheting the normal sized shell, we were given enough Noro Kureyon to crochet a shell twice as large!

I wasn’t sure if I could be bothered crocheting an extra large shell at first, but as I started to see the beautiful colour changes in the shell, I knew I wanted to incorporate as many colour transitions as possible, so I kept crocheting!

Just keep crocheting, just keep crocheting, just keep crocheting, crocheting, crocheting. What do we do? We crochet, crochet crochet!

Speedy the SnailWith such an enormous shell, I was worried he wouldn’t be able to stand up properly, but with some careful planning of where to crochet the foot, I’m proud to say my snail stands perfectly upright!

He looks so cute and comical with such an oversized shell!

Speedy the Snail

I think I’ll name him Speedy. “Spedition” in German means shipping/removal company, and that’s what he reminds me of, carrying that giant shell on his back!

