Getting Creative with Little Miss Ling: Decorating Upcycled Cereal Box Booklets

Like I said in the Upcycled Cereal Box Booklets entry, I think these booklets look great as they are, but there’s no harm in pimping them up a little bit, is there?

Make your booklet cute and functional by sewing a button to the front, tying a knot with the loose ends on the inside of the cover. Leave enough string to wrap around the width of the booklet twice and you have a way of securing your booklet closed!

I used a mixture of new

Booklets

and vintage buttons.

Decorating Upcycled Cereal Box Booklets

Feeling a little more adventurous? Crochet your own “button” and use a running stitch to attach it to the cover of the booklet. Hide the stitch on the front by weaving the yarn through the crochet stitches.

I absolutely adore how this pink flower looks on the brown cover. Oh so cute!

Decorating Upcycled Cereal Box Booklets

The fun doesn’t stop at buttons. Why not embroider your own design onto the cover? I used embroidery thread for the cross stitched heart, string for the “XOXO” and Eiffel Tower designs, and wool for the rest, and I love how they all turned out!

(Click to see full size image.)

And finally, what could possibly be more hipster than a washi tape moustache? Embroider a border around it for extra contrast and you have yourself a hipster-fied booklet!

Decorating Upcycled Cereal Box Booklets

I had so much fun decorating these booklets. I originally wanted to paint some of the covers as well, but my cover ideas exceeded the number of booklets I had!

Which booklet is your favourite? I really can’t decide!

