Getting Creative with Little Miss Ling: Original crochet turtle

Today I bring you my third original amigurumi design.

My first was the Chicken Treat animated chicken. My second was Buzzbee.

I present to you my third:

Turts

I gave him the very original name of Turts.

I was inspired by my friend’s signature turtle sketch and even made him a top hat.

Turts

I was toying with the idea of giving Turts eyes, but I think he looks cuter without!

I was toying with the idea of giving Turts eyes, but I think he looks cuter without!

I intended to make Turts for my friend’s birthday present, but hubby and I fell in love with Turts so much that I had to speed crochet a second turtle for my friend’s birthday so that we could keep Turts.

Turts

My method for creating this pattern was more similar to the Chicken Treat animated chicken in that the pattern wasn’t based on an existing pattern. I just had a shape in mind and started crocheting until it started to take shape.

It worked pretty well except I found it tricky to accurately record what I was doing as it kept interrupting my crochet rhythm. I did write down the stitches as best I could, and it’s pretty accurate since I crocheted the second turtle based on it, but I can’t help but feel the second turtle is just slightly different from Turts. I’ll try and work the pattern out if I end up crocheting a third turtle for someone.

In the meantime, if you’d like me to publish the current version of the pattern, just let me know in the comments!

Hubby's childhood toy Thomas T Turtle (better known as Tom) doing a turtle roll call (not a Total Recall - get it?! :'D)

Hubby’s childhood toy Thomas T Turtle (better known as Tom) doing a turtle roll call (not a Total Recall – get it?! :’D)

