Etsy Resolution: Update

Etsy

Given my last Etsy Resolution post was on 2 May 2016, I thought it was high time to give you an update on the status of my Etsy shop.

I never quite got around to completing Etsy Resolution Week 2: Mastering Your Titles, Tags and Descriptions (and getting found in search). I started the lesson and then decided it was all too difficult. Unsurprisingly, my listings expired with almost no views after my blog post in May.

It’s not all bad news though! In fact, I have some very good news!

My office hosted a Christmas pop up shop and I asked if I could set up a stall for my handmade wares. It took a lot of courage for me to put myself out there, and I got even more scared after the organiser said yes!

Booklets

My quickly thrown together brochure for the pop up shop

I kept my expectations low to avoid disappointment, but to my utter ecstasy, I sold 4 booklets before the day of the pop up shop and another 3 booklets and Cliff the Brontosaurus on the day of the pop up shop! I gave the organiser a booklet to say thank you, and her son loved it so much that she later bought 2 more booklets!

Thanks to the pop up shop, I received my first commission from a colleague – 2 crochet bell ornaments. I had so much fun optimising the pattern, learning how to starch crochet items, and giving it some bling factor with some beadwork. Ok. The beadwork was pretty fiddly, but I’m so happy with the result! I’m actually looking forward to returning to work so I can give my colleague the final products!

Bells

I have no plans of turning my creative ventures into a full-time business. I just don’t have the confidence to charge for time I spend on each project. Plus I enjoy working. I think I’d be at a loss if I quit my job. But it’s been so encouraging to have people like my work enough to spend money on it, and it’s nice to be able to recoup some of the material costs to keep supporting my creative endeavours!

I don’t have a clear vision for my Etsy shop right now. I have 9 more booklets and Oakley the Oak Leaf that I would like to sell, but eventually I would like to create and sell my own original amigurumi and other crochet items, as well as their patterns. I am also very interested in commissions where I work with customers to create what they’re looking for.

But for now, I don’t think I will renew my Etsy listings until I work through the rest of Etsy Resolution. No point paying for listings that no one can find! So if you’re interested in purchasing anything, let me know!

