Getting Creative with Little Miss Ling: Crocheted Yoda

Getting Creative with Little Miss Ling

Two Star Wars posts in a row! And I’m not even a Star Wars fan!

I do, however, love Yoda.

Knowing how many Star Wars/Yoda fans there are out there, I thought it would be a fun challenge to try and design my own Yoda amigurumi pattern.

I started off with a sketch.

Crochet Yoda

I wasn’t going for realism. I wanted quite a chibi aesthetic.

It was important to me to make a real robe that you could put on and take off, rather than one that was stitched onto the body. I also wanted a hood that Yoda could actually wear.

With all that in mind, I started crocheting. After much trial and error, this is what I came up with:

Crochet Yoda

Hood on

Crochet Yoda

Hood off

In order to have the hood actually fit over Yoda’s head, I had to make it quite large. So large that it overwhelmed his body when it was off. To solve this problem, I sewed a button and latch to the inside of the hood so that I could keep the hood neatly tucked against Yoda’s back when he wasn’t wearing it.

Crochet Yoda

You can see how the hood is folded and fastened in this photo:

Crochet Yoda

I will end this post with one of my favourite quotes from Yoda.

“Mm, lost a planet Master Obi-Wan has. How embarrassing. How embarrassing.” – Episode II – Attack of the Clones

You know what else is embarrassing? Yoda without his robe! He looks so naked! =’D

Crochet Yoda

