Getting Creative with Little Miss Ling: Granny Square Blanket

If you remember, I said that I didn’t want to start a new project before finishing my granny square blanket. And since I’ve not only started, but finished my amigurumi teddy… you guessed right! I’ve also finished my granny square blanket! Hoorah!

Last time, I had finished all the simple squares and the circles in squares. Since then, I used Carina’s method to join the squares and Bunny Mummy’s method for a flat border for the blanket.

I used this method to wet-block the blanket, but without a blocking board, I had to pin my blanket onto the towel and lay it onto a flattened cardboard box on my clotheshorse.

Granny Square Blanket

It was impossible to coax the blanket into a perfect rectangle because of the method I used to join the granny squares. Carina’s method gave me the contrasting border between the squares that I wanted, but also gave a misaligned effect to the blanket.

Aside from that, my makeshift blocking equipment worked a treat and the process really flattened out the edges and stopped them from curling.

Coming in at just under 110cm by 60cm, it’s a tiny blanket, but it sure felt like a mammoth effort! I can only hope it’ll become a treasured family heirloom! ^_^